Happy New Year!

I hope you had an amazing holiday season surrounded by lots of people you love and tons of food you adore :) My parents, brother and sister-in-law came up to my apartment in NYC, where we ate our way through the city (yum!!) and enjoyed some amazing cooking by Mama Wu. Then I flew down South with the bf, and spent a few days there visiting with friends, showing the bf around the city where I grew up, and filling my tummy with all manners of delicious Southern cooking. Sweet tea and fried okra, how I’ve missed you!  I’ll be back, I promise.

Now I’m back in the city (how I’ve missed you too!), and am ready to start off the new year right! In lieu of New Year’s Resolutions, I’ve opted for the more tame New Year’s Suggestions (since we all know what happens to NY Resolutions…especially mine), these include:

  1. Sleep more – this is a tough one. I’m going to try to sleep before 11pm, which helps with…
  2. 1 morning workout / week – they make my days feel so much more productive!
  3. Actually read / listen to the entire Bible. I’m thinking Daily Audio Bible? Kunle is a fan / 2x veteran :)
  4. Make more time to see friends (Hi can we hang out please? I will bring you cookies!)
  5. Bake / cook and post more

In honor of #5, my first baking project for 2012:

Chewy Molasses Cookies

From Can You Stay for Dinner (Read her story, The Journey to Lose 135lbs – amazing and completely inspiring!)

Makes 24 large cookies (a dangerously large amount of cookies.  I halved it when I made it)

 

I love small containers

Ingredients:

12 Tbsp unsalted butter, melted

1 3/4 cup powdered sugar (or 1 cup of granulated…I didn’t have any, but I think the powdered sugar made it even more chewy)

¼ cup molasses

1 egg

1 ¾ cups unbleached all-purpose flour

½ tsp ground cloves

½ tsp ground ginger

1 tsp ground cinnamon

½ tsp salt

½ tsp baking soda

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper to make your life / cleanup much much easier and set aside (or use a silpat, or aluminum foil lightly sprayed with cooking oil to prevent sticking).

Mix the melted butter with the sugar in a large bowl, then add in the molasses. Beat the egg slightly, and add to the mix. Mix until it’s fully incorporated.

My brother and sister in law gave me this adorable mini whisk!

In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, cloves, ginger, cinnamon, salt and baking soda.

Chock full of spicy goodness!

Add the dry ingredients into wet ingredients, and stir until it’s combined. The mix will be wetter than the average cookie dough, so don’t worry.

For large cookies, I used a 1.5 tablespoon ice cream scoop (excellent for mini portions of ice cream, and cookie dough!), or for smaller cookies measure out 1 tablespoon balls of dough.  Ice cream scoops are wonderful for cookies, they measure things out evenly and make round cookies (instead of the amoeba-like ones I usually end up with). Also, as a side note, I love all things mini, but I’d avoid it here – you need a normal sized cookie to get that nice crisp edge and that melts-your-heart-it’s-so-chewy center. And make sure to leave enough room between the dough, because these cookies flatten and spread out a ton!  The situation in the bottom left corner here was clearly going to be a disaster, but hey, sometimes a cookie need friends:

I'm not that good with spacing things out evenly...

Bake for 8-10 minutes. Obsessively check the cookies and breathe in the scent of spiced goodness until you can’t hold back anymore, or alternatively…bake until the edges are set, even if the centers seem almost under baked (I prefer the former method). Let the cookies cool on a rack if you have one, or if not, let the cookies set for a few minutes, and lift the parchment paper along with the cookies off the cooking sheet to cool on your kitchen counter.

Sneak a cookie (or three) while the rest of the cools.

You really have to try at least 3 to make sure you're getting a good sampling of your work...it's just good practice!

Tie them up in a pretty bow, and gift them to your favorite person (if that person is yourself, more power to you!).

Odd ribbon choice, I know. But I have a weakness for all things lavender...

2 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Love the post and love you, lady! Maybe we can do 2, 4, and 5 together by working out, and baking something delicious one of these weekend mornings
    <3 MUAH!

Leave a Reply

