My first attempt… Dutch Babies!

When I went back home in July, I stayed with Jena, one of my best friends from high school.  When I used to come back from college, one of our favorite traditions was to buy a good bottle of wine, find a delicious recipe, and figure out how to make it with the help of her mom, who’s an amazing cook.  In fact, Jena and her mom are part of the reason why I started to bake more 🙂

Anyway, when I went back last month, they taught me how to make Dutch Babies – fluffy, buttery, baked goodness topped with fresh fruit and a sprinkling of powdered sugar.  The recipe is incredibly simple, and was perfect for a weekend brunch:

Gathering the Ingredients

Ingredients:

1/2 cup flour

1/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup milk (I used almond milk)

2 eggs

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract

1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon and / or nutmeg (optional)

1 tablespoon of butter

For the topping:

1/2 cup of strawberries, sliced

Lemons, wedges (optional)

2 tablespoons of powdered sugar

Instructions:

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

Whisk together the flour and sugar until thoroughly combined.  Pour in the 2 eggs, milk and vanilla extract.  I added some cinnamon and nutmeg because I love the flavors, but that’s up to you – feel free to improvise 🙂

On the stovetop, melt the butter in a 8 or 10-inch cast iron pan over low heat (be sure not to let it brown!).  Make sure to coat both the bottom and the sides of the pan.

I had to clean the stovetop to take this shot!

Pour in the batter, and cook on the stovetop on low to medium heat for about a minute until the bottom sets. Transfer the pan to the oven, and bake for 10-14 minutes until the batter has risen above the sides of the pan and turned a golden brown .

I actually put this back into the oven for a few more minutes, don't get too excited and take them out too soon like me 🙂

Let the pan cool for a few minutes.  As it cools, the dutch baby will shrink a little.  Cut into wedges, squeeze some lemon juice on top, and garnish with fresh strawberry slices and a sprinkling of powder sugar.

Yum! 🙂

And you’re done!  Top it with some maple syrup or honey if you like.

Nutrition Facts:

Makes 4 servings.  Each serving has: 197 calories, 6g fat, 100mg cholestrol, 79mg sodium, 129mg potassium, 31g total carbohydrates, 5.1g protein.

3 responses to “My first attempt… Dutch Babies!

  1. Having a chance to taste these myself, I have to say that they were delicious. And I always enjoy watching you cook 🙂

  2. look so good!! This is just like you were describing to me and I’m sad that I missed this 😦

    Also, your stove looks pristine 🙂

Leave a Reply

