Egg Nests

Okay, I’ll admit it.  Despite having spent most of last weekend hunting down favorite restaurants and cafes, meeting friends (over meals and coffee/dessert), and shopping (while simultaneously drinking or eating some new dessert / drink find I couldn’t live without…it’s a gift, really), I spent the majority of the bus ride back to NYC thinking about… food.

I caught up on my food blogs (I may or may not subscribe to over 30…) and pored over recipes.  I really missed my kitchen.  I know that’s kind of weird…  But there’s just something so calming and fulfilling about finding new recipes and seeing them come to life – and the good Southern lady in me just looooves feeding people I love.  Minus the overly buttered, battered and fried part, eww.  Nothing wrong with butter and fried things every so often, but honestly, I’d like my loved ones to live longer (so I can feed them more!)

Anyway, when I stumbled upon this recipe for “Egg Nests,” I was sold!  Learning how to make crepes?  Awesome!!  That totally makes me almost French, right?  (I wish…).  Bacon?  Yum!  The pack of turkey bacon that I bought on a whim was totally made for this.  Eggs?  I bought two cartons by accident.  All in a super cute, to-die for package?  Woohoo!!

Was I intimidated by making crepes?  Psh, yeah.  This is the girl who used to burn slice and bake cookies (don’t judge…it’s tough to time it right!).  But whatever, might as give it a try.  The first 2 attempts were pathetic.  I’m too ashamed to post the first one.  Suffice it to say, it looked like… scrambled eggs.  Oops.  This was the second:

So many holes and lumpy edges 😦

Looks a little blurry, huh?  Yep, that’s on purpose.  It looks infinitely worse when you can see clearly.  I’m sneaky like that.

Ingredients

For the crepe

1 cup flour

1 tablespoon sugar

1/4 tablespoon salt

1 1/2 cup almond milk (or low fat milk)

4 large eggs, or egg beaters

3 tablespoons butter, melted, plus more for cooking

For the “nest”

9 eggs (the real kind)*

12 slices of thin sliced turkey bacon (or whatever bacon you like), cut into thirds*

Salt & pepper to taste

Your favorite spices (I added rosemary, basil, a bit of onion powder, and thyme)

*You can adjust the number of eggs / bacon slices according to how many crepes turn out successful.  I ended up with 6 crepes, but figured 2 nests / person is about right, so I just made 4, and ate the rest of the crepes with nutella / peanut butter while the nests were baking.  Yum!

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

In a bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar and salt.  Add in the milk, eggs, and butter, and blend with a hand blender, or stick it in a food processor / blender / stand mixer.  Or you can whisk it by hand if you’re feeling productive.  Make sure it’s completely mixed with no lumps.  It should be a soupy texture, runnier than pancake batter.

In a 9-inch nonstick skillet on medium heat, lightly coat the pan with butter (I tried cooking spray – yeesh, not a good idea.  I think I’m just not crepe-saavy enough to make it work, so feel free to try!  Although, butter also makes it brown nicely and smells / tastes delicious).  Pour in about 1/3 cup of the batter into the skillet, and spread it so it  covers the bottom of the pan.

Oops, poured in too much. This one was real thick.

Let it cook on medium heat for ~3 minutes, or until the underside is slightly browned, and you can lift the crepe without it breaking.  This takes practice, especially if you are an ex-slice-‘n’-bake cookie burner.  Flip the crepe with a spatula or very very carefully with your fingers (careful it’s hot!), and cook for another 2-3 minutes until the other side is brown as well.  It looks like this, more or less:

Still lumpy, but less holes... Close enough!

Make the rest of your crepes, lightly buttering the pan each time.  Once you’re done, you can assemble your “nest.”

Place the crepe on a baking sheet line with parchment paper (makes cleanup super easy!).  Place the cut bacon slices in a square in the center of the crepe.

Crack open an egg in the middle of the crepe, and fold the four sides of the crepe in.  The egg whites are gooey enough to hold the crepe together, unless you made your crepe too thick (like me!).  In that case, you can use toothpicks to hold in the edges.  Just don’t forget to take them out before you eat, cuz the toothpick blends in with the crepe and makes for an unpleasant surprise (how do I know this?  Yep, almost ate a toothpick.  I kept thinking “my cooking isn’t THAT bad is it??”  Nope, it was the toothpick, not the crepe.  Whew).  Sprinkle some salt, pepper, and spices of your choice on top.

The ones on the right were struggling real hard to break free of the nest. Rebels.

Finish assembling the rest of the nest.  When you’re done, stick them in the oven, and bake for ~10 minutes.  Check it often to make sure they’re not overcooking – you want the egg whites to set, but the yolk to remain gooey (or cook it longer if you hate runny yolks.  I like them a little runny because it acts as a “sauce” and moistens the crepes, yum!).  Warning: the egg whites are done before they LOOK done, so poke at them (discretely!  we are not barbarians here) to check their done-ness.

Pull the pan out of the over, find a pretty plate, and serve.  So classy and cute at the same time!

Breakfast of champions!

2 responses to “Egg Nests

  1. Girl, you are making me hungry! I want to eat everything you make! I think this means I need to start using my kitchen as more than a place to make coffee… Thanks for sharing all your fun recipes!

    • Awww thanks!! Haha well I need to come down and visit, and we can cook together 🙂 Have you been to Trader Joe’s yet? I’m literally obsessed with that place. To the point that I looked up if there was one near you! Stalker-ish? Maybe. But once you go you’ll understand 🙂

Leave a Reply

