Cottage Cheese and Chicken Sausage “Muffins”

So I’m officially hooked.  It’s been less than a week, and I’ve been back to that mind blowingly hot yoga studio FOUR TIMES.  What’s wrong with me??  Actually, scratch that.  This rocks!

Okay, so I admit…I tend to get really obsessed with stuff and dive into them head first.  But what’s the point of doing something if you’re not going to do it 150% right??  But at least this one is healthy, unlike that brief (okay fine, not so brief) period when I became obsessed with Korean double fried chicken and wanted to eat it every day.  Come to think of it, I wouldn’t mind some double fried chicken right now…

Anyway!  The result of all this bikram yoga-ing is a lack of sleep, since I’ve been taking 8:30pm classes that end at 10pm…and I putter around a lot after I get back home, so it’s way past midnight before I end up going to bed.  Which means that in the morning, I have about 2 minutes to grab something to eat before I head out, cuz I’m constantly triple snoozing through my alarm.  Sigh.

The good news is, I found an awesome recipe from Kalyn’s Kitchen for cottage cheese muffin and they make perfect grab and go breakfasts!  I made a few changes based on what I had on hand and adding a little pizzaz in the form of spices, and was pretty happy with how they turned out.  They’re less muffin-y and more quiche-y, and absolutely delicious 🙂

Cottage Cheese & Chicken Sausage Muffins (slightly modified from Kalyn’s Kitchen)

Ingredients:

1/4 cup white whole wheat flour
2/3 cup almond meal (Trader Joe’s sells these at a happy price, or just use  white whole wheat flour if you don’t have any)
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon of your favorite spices (I used basil, rosemary, onion powder, garlic powder, and thyme)
2/3 cup low-fat cottage cheese
1/4 cup parmesan, grated
1 cup egg substitute (4 eggs)
1 chicken sausage, chopped
1/2 cup low-fat sharp cheddar
2 tablespoons sliced green onions (optional)
2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil (optional)

So happy to be cooking again 🙂

Directions: 

Preheat the oven to 400ºF.  Whisk together the two flours and baking powder.  Stir in the cheeses, sausage, egg and green onions.  Add salt, pepper and spices, as well as the chopped basil.

So much breakfast-y goodness in one bowl!

Lightly spray a muffin tin (I used my mini square pan that my parents got me, it’s about the same as a ~12 small muffin pan or 6 regular sized) with cooking spray, and divide the batter into the cups.  Mine filled 12 slots, but I didn’t make them that deep and the squares aren’t that big.

Bake for about 20-25 minutes until the egg is set.  It might be longer if you’re using a bigger pan.  I didn’t bake them as much as I normally would (i think I took it out at like 20 minutes), since Kalyn points out that it’s better not to cook them too long if you’re going to microwave them later, cuz they’ll be too dry.

I ate 4 of these as lunch because I was starving, but 2 make a pretty darn filling breakfast.  Lots of protein, fairly low calorie and deelish.  Great workout and /or  shoot-I-overslept-again-and-am-now-late-for-work food!

I thought the basil made it look more fresh. Too bad I abused my basil plant and the leaves are a little wilty...

One response to “Cottage Cheese and Chicken Sausage “Muffins”

Leave a Reply

