Post Thanksgiving Detox

Now that the Turkey’s been carved up and the endless leftovers have been  re-packaged and re-fashioned into leftover goodies (is that a turkey sandwich I see in your lunch box? Can I have some?), it’s time to recover from the multiple food coma situation that was the last few days. 

I know what you’re expecting – suggestions for post Thanksgiving workouts, sweating it out with Bikram, maybe a juice cleanse or two?  I mean, those are all great  – except the juice cleanse..I love juice and all, but the whole “eating is cheating” thing seems a little extreme…I really enjoy food I can chew…

But let’s get real, and talk about the ultimate detox food. One that brings with it lots of benefits like lower blood pressure (to recover from too much family time), lower cholesterol (too much rich food), and superhuman energy (to do all that work you conveniently forgot to do over the weekend), and other goodies like the ability to make stress, carbs and parental nagging fade away.

What is this miracle food you ask? 

Chocolate.

Yep, you heard me right.  Rich, delicious, dark chocolate – the Bite Sizes-approved Thanksgiving hangover cure. Okay, so maybe some of the benefits are a wee bit exaggerated (and potentially made up) … but after all the Thanksgiving prep, I got a little tired of cinnamon, nutmeg and (dare I say it?!)… pumpkin.  But I was craving something sweet and (relatively) light, and really…who can say no to chocolate?

Oh, and I may have also just watched a bit of Chocolat over the weekend, and thought maybe if I made something chocolate-y, Johnny Depp my boyfriend will come sweep me off my feet (Guess who’s reading this post as I type?). 

Anyway, I earmarked this recipe in an old Better Homes and Gardens recipe book I bought awhile back.  It does require a few extra steps, but it’s pretty straight forward, and it makes a really dreamy, fluffy dessert that clocks in at under 150 calories.  Win.

The usual suspects

Special equipment needed:
8 ramekins
Lots of bowls (you’ll see…)
Handmixer or stand mixer (unless you want to whip egg whites by hand.  Though that totally counts as a workout if you wanna do it…)

Ingredients:
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 teaspoon instant espresso coffee powder or instant coffee powder (I used espresso ground beans…close enough)
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup milk
2 egg yolks
4 egg whites
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
Powdered sugar (for dusting)

Instructions:
Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Lightly spray the 8 ramekins with cooking spray or lightly coat with vegetable oil (you can also use butter.  I know I said butter’s always better, but I was really lazy this time and didn’t want to open up a new package…unsurprisingly, I used up the last carton over Thanksgiving). 

In a small bowl, combing the 2 tablespoons of granulated sugar with espresso powder (or instant coffee).  I didn’t have instant espresso. but I had espresso ground beans, which I used instead.  Tasted just fine!  The coffee taste was definitely stronger, which I liked.  If you don’t have it or don’t like the taste of coffee,it’s completely fine, you can replace it with cocoa powder. The coffee / espresso just brings out the flavor of the chocolate more. 

Coffee flavored sugar...why did I never think of this??

Divy up the sugar / coffee mix between the ramekins, until each ramekin is lightly coated on the bottom and insides with the mix.

The coffee / sugar mix is like a sweet, caffeinated hug for the souffle....

In a medium sauce pan, combine 1/2 cup of the remaining granulated sugar (not all of it! You’ll use the rest in a bit), the cocoa, flour and salt.  Slowly pour in the milk, and stir until combined. 

Heat the chocolate-y mix on the stove on medium heat until it’s bubbly / thickened.  Reduce the heat, and stir for one more minute.  Remove from heat.  Slightly beat the egg yolks, and slowly add the yolks to the chocolate mixture, stiring constantly.  Set it aside for now.

Mmmm....

In another clean, dry bowl, add egg whites, vanilla extract, and cream of tartar.  Using a hand mixer or stand mixer, mix on medium speed until it starts to look frothy, and then slowly add in the remaining 1/4 cup sugar.  Mix on medium / high speed until the eggs form stiff peaks (aka they hold their shape and don’t droop when you lift up the whisk).

I'm always amazed that egg whites can do this...

Slowly add in the chocolate mixture, and gently fold until incorporated.

Slowly means not throwing it all in, like I basically did…

Pour the mixture into your prepared ramekins, and bake for ~25 minutes, or until a knife inserted into the center comes out clean. 

Dust with powdered sugar, and serve immediately.  I would suggest serving it with ice cream (The Edy’s slow churned vanilla / caramel is a personal favorite…and it’s light!).

Chocolate makes the world go round

The recipe says these don’t keep all that well (although I had one for breakfast the next day, it was fine!  It was like very moist, chocolate sponge cake.  Yum.), so eat up!

These didn't last long...

One response to “Post Thanksgiving Detox

  1. Hahaha you crack me up, girl – these look delicious, and sounds like you had a successful Thanksgiving eat-a-thon 🙂

Leave a Reply

